• Google
  • RSS
  • Google
  • RSS

The Overwatch World Cup Group Stage is now done and dusted with eight nations progressing to the finals next weekend at the 10th BlizzCon at the Anaheim Convention Centre.

Important seeding in the final eight of the Overwatch World Cup was up for grabs today after the majority of knockout positions had already been locked in during the previous day’s play.  The top two teams from each of the four groups now move on to the next stage of competition.

Overwatch World Cup

Courtesy: Blizzard

The opening games of the day saw Spain extend a flawless record to three wins from three games, topping their group ahead of Sweden who lost only once in the stage.

Group B featured tournament barnstormers USA, though an upset loss to Russia in their final group match meant that the Russians topped the group ahead of the second placed USA.

READ MORE - DotA 2 Fall Battle Pass Beginner’s Guide

South Korea and Finland, having both already qualified for the Final Eight, faced off to see who would top Group C not long after.  It was South Korea who prevailed, earning a favourable run in the next stage.

The fourth and final group of they day provided the most potential permutations.  France looked to jump from third into finals contention and they did it in heart-stopping fashion.  China and France were near inseparable, but an emotional and intense last-gasp victory to France set the scene for a fantastic finale.  Thailand went on to defeat Singapore in a result that meant they were part of a three-way tie with China and France, the three destined to meet on potentially infinite fixtures on the Nepal map.

China, having faltered in the regular group stage, were relentless  in the tie-breakers against both Thailand and France.  Their brace of victories cemented their position in the final eight and they did so in dramatic fashion, pulling off a reverse sweep after dropping the first map in each fixture.  These results meant France and Thailand would then play the third and final game of the tie-breakers to decide which team would join China at BlizzCon.  France wasted no time, gaining the high ground and claiming the first map of their elimination game against Thailand.  The second game would prove to be significantly tighter, but France would clinch victory and lock in their position in the Overwatch World Cup Final Eight.

The eight teams that qualify for the Overwatch World Cup Final Eight are:

  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Russia
  • USA
  • South Korea
  • Finland
  • China
  • France

The finals will take place on November 4th and 5th, bringing the eSports leg of BlizzCon 2016 to an exciting climax.

The World Cup-style tournament, pitching nations against each other rather than privately owned mixed teams, has been an exciting twist on the traditional eSports format.

Stay tuned to BLOT Gaming next weekend to find out which nation is crowned the Overwatch World Champion!